Pina Bausch

Pina Bausch was born 1940 in Solingen and died 2009 in Wuppertal. She received her dance training at the Folkwang School in Essen under Kurt Jooss, where she achieved technical excellence. The director of Wuppertal’s theatres, Arno Wüstenhöfer, engaged her as choreographer in autumn 1973, and soon after she renamed the ensemble the Tanztheater Wuppertal. Under this name, although controversial at the beginning, the company gradually achieved international recognition. Its combination of poetic and everyday elements influenced the international development of dance decisively. Awarded some of the greatest prizes and honours world-wide, Pina Bausch is one of the most significant choreographers of our time.

Discover more
Photo Wilfried Krüger, © Pina Bausch Foundation
Photo Wilfried Krüger, © Pina Bausch Foundation
© Oliver Look
© Oliver Look

The Background

After Pina Bausch’s death in 2009 the search began in Wuppertal for ways to preserve the dancer and choreographer’s artistic heritage in the long term. These discussions led first and foremost to the establishment of the Pina Bausch Foundation, on the initiative of her son, Salomon Bausch, and her partner, Ronald Kay. At the same time discussions continued on the future of Wuppertal’s main theatre, the Schauspielhaus, which had served for years (along with Wuppertal Opera House) as a rehearsal and performance venue for the Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch.

Discover more
© Stadt Wuppertal, Medienzentrum, Antje Zeis-Loi
© Stadt Wuppertal, Medienzentrum, Antje Zeis-Loi

Funding

With the support of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, Wuppertal city council has cleared the way for a detailed preliminary study. The German government has offered half of the maximum 58 million euro investment needed. The other half will be met by the state, the city, sponsors, foundations, public fundraising initiatives and donations. Once all essential requirements have been met, the city council will be able to pass an implementation resolution to begin the project.

Discover more

Pina Bausch

Pina Bausch, geboren 1940 in Solingen, gestorben 2009 in Wuppertal, erhält ihre Tanzausbildung an der Essener Folkwang-Hochschule unter Leitung von Kurt Jooss. Hier erlernt sie eine exzellente Tanztechnik. Als der Wuppertaler Intendant Arno Wüstenhöfer sie zur Spielzeit 1973/74 als Choreographin verpflichtet, benennt sie das Ensemble schon bald in Tanztheater Wuppertal um. Unter diesem Namen erlangt die Kompanie, obwohl anfänglich umstritten, mit den Jahren Weltgeltung. Ihre Verknüpfung von poetischen und Alltagselementen beeinflusst entscheidend die internationale Tanzentwicklung. Weltweit mit den höchsten Preisen und Ehrungen ausgezeichnet, zählt Pina Bausch zu den bedeutendsten Choreographinnen der Gegenwart.

Mehr erfahren
Foto Wilfried Krüger, © Pina Bausch Foundation
Foto Wilfried Krüger, © Pina Bausch Foundation
© Oliver Look
© Oliver Look

Vorgeschichte

Nach dem Tod von Pina Bausch im Jahr 2009 wurde in der Stadt Wuppertal nach Wegen gesucht, um das künstlerische Erbe der Tänzerin und Choreografin dauerhaft zu bewahren. Diese Diskussion schlug sich insbesondere in der Gründung der Pina Bausch Foundation auf Initiative ihres Sohnes, Salomon Bausch, und ihres Lebenspartners, Ronald Kay, nieder. Parallel dazu wurde über die Zukunft des Wuppertaler Schauspielhauses nachgedacht, das (zusammen mit dem Opernhaus) dem Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch jahrzehntelang als Probe- und Aufführungsort gedient hatte.

Mehr erfahren
© Stadt Wuppertal, Medienzentrum, Antje Zeis-Loi
© Stadt Wuppertal, Medienzentrum, Antje Zeis-Loi

Finanzierung

Der Rat der Stadt Wuppertal hat mit Unterstützung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen den Weg freigemacht für eine gründliche Vorstudie. Für die folgende Investition hat der Bund die Hälfte der maximal rund 58 Millionen Euro in Aussicht gestellt. Die andere Hälfte entfällt auf das Land, die Stadt sowie Sponsoren, Stiftungen, bürgerschaftliches Engagement und Spenden. Wenn alle notwendigen Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind, wird der Rat der Stadt das Projekt mit einem Durchführungsbeschluss endgültig auf den Weg bringen.

Mehr erfahren